Book review: Saving Missy by Beth Morrey

Saving Missy by Beth Morrey
★★★★★

Publisher: HarperCollins
Available now

I’ve been reading a lot lately, and who hasn’t? It’s been a week since the Swiss government announced that we should remain at home and avoid socialising. All shops and cinemas are closed and I have been working from home since Monday. It’s not been ideal, not at all, but I am lucky.

I have decided that I want to write a new blog post every Sunday (just because it’s a very easy day to sit down and update the website) so here’s my review of one of the most beautiful books I’ve read this year – Saving Missy by Beth Morrey.

The book tell the story of Missy Carmichael. Living in her old London house, she grieves for a family she has lost touch with and is haunted by the echoes of her past.

She’s completely alone but that is exactly what she deserves – after what she did, there can be nothing else ahead of her. Right? However, an encounter in the nearby park with two neighbours will change her way of life and will open the door to something new.

Another life is waiting for Missy – would she brave enough to take it? Well, seventy-nine is too late for a second chance, isn’t it?


Saving Missy by Beth Morrey is one of those books that fills you with joy. It’s like a hot cup of coffee on a rainy morning and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Our protagonist, Missy, is terribly British. She is terribly lonely too and does not believe in second chances, thank you very much. Memories of her life come back to her constantly and her days pass uneventfully until one day she meets two women in a nearby park: Sylvie and her younger friend Angela, single mum to Otis.

Sylvie and Angela take an interest in Missy and they develop a lovely friendship that will make Missy’s life take a turn for the better.

The book is narrated in the first person and it is full of flashbacks in which the reader will learn more about Missy’s younger years: her university days, how she met the man that became her husband and life as a young mum. There’re plenty of things to discover about Missy and the events that made her who she is today.

Heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time, this novel includes a great mix of characters, a believable plot and a very lovely dog named Bobby.

There’s humour and sadness and a sense of community – and lots of cake too.

To be honest, I didn’t expect this to happen but I gave Missy a chance and she filled my days with joy!

For more information about the book you can visit the Amazon page here.

Little Book Review: So Lucky by Dawn O’ Porter

So Lucky
By Dawn O’Porter
★★★★★
Pub date: 31 October 2019
Publisher: HarperCollins

IS ANYONE’S LIFE . . .

Beth shows that women really can have it all.
Ruby lives life by her own rules.
And then there’s Lauren, living the dream.

AS PERFECT AS IT LOOKS?

Beth hasn’t had sex in a year.
Ruby feels like she’s failing.
Lauren’s happiness is fake news.

And it just takes one shocking event to make the truth come tumbling out…

Fearless, frank and for everyone who’s ever doubted themselves, So Lucky is the straight-talking new novel from the Sunday Times bestseller.

Actually, you’re pretty f****** lucky to be you

————


Genuinely uplifting, deeply joyful and hugely funny tale. It made want to read without a pause. The stories of the three protagonists felt real and imperfect, which is what I liked most about the book. 

The writing was raw and the novel is filled with life lessons that will make the readers rethink twice about their own lives.

Really excellent. Highly recommended.

Book review: Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

9780007515547.jpg

Not That Kind of Girl
by Lena Dunham

★★★★
Edition: Paperback
Published: 23/02/2017
Publisher: Fourth State

 

I have read loads of books since the beginning of 2017. Well, not as many as I’d have liked but it’s been a busy year. However, I wanted to share with you my thoughts on a particular book that made me smile and laugh. It made me feel nostalgic and I ended up taking it everywhere with me: to the office, on the tube and even to some dates with my boyfriend where I hoped to have the chance to open it up while I waited for him to arrive…

This book claims to be for readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris and it is a collection of hilarious, poignant, and extremely frank  personal essays written by Lena Dunham – the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO’s ‘Girls’.

– – – – – – – – –

If you type ‘Lena Dunham’ or ‘GIRLS’ on Google, you would find thousands of sites about them. There is so much that is being said on both the author and her series. What is true and what isn’t? You need to find out for yourself and create your own opinion, and that’s what Lena Dunham has taught me: it is fine to have your own voice so in spite of all the bad reviews out there, let me tell you that I found this book witty, interesting, charming and funny. The book is divided in essays and yes, I got lost in some of them but eventually I found myself again, laughing so much I thought I was going to cry.

I’ve run into a lot of people who don’t like Lena Dunham. In reality, I didn’t find her that interesting at the beginning either. I thought – is her only purpose to appear naked in every episode of her series? But you know what? I don’t really care. There are so many hot girls who appear naked everywhere and what if she wants to show her own body and put herself out there? I say YES to that. She’s hot and intelligent and deserves credit not only for the series she created, but for the lessons she teaches everyone of us.

Yes, that is her. Yes, she puts herself out there and shows everyone that you shouldn’t (even for one second) be ashamed of who you are. Even if you are not a size 8, if you have anxiety, OCD or kissed a girl back when you were at school. So what? You are gold, and precious and kind.

And no, this book didn’t changed my life but I enjoyed it. I found myself there (as I am sure a lot of people did) and Lena Dunham has some great life lessons to teach us all. If you liked GIRLS, give it a go because you’ll like this. She lives up to her voice and that’s nice.

So here’s to you Lena, five big, shiny stars.

You can read more about Not That Kind of Girl here
And if you feel like reading it, click here to buy the book.