Book review: Big Bones by Laura Dockrill

36642854

Big Bones
By Laura Dockrill
★★★★
Pub date: 8th March 2018
Publisher: Hot Key Books

I read a lot. Probably not as much as I’d want to but a lot nonetheless. However, I do not write reviews of all the books I read. Probably like most book bloggers. Big Bones, though… deserve a mention here because it’s just like a sunny day in the middle of winter.

Written by renowned author Laura Dockrill, the story revolves around Bluebelle, aka BB, aka Big Bones – a sixteen-year-old girl encouraged to tackle her weight even though she’s perfectly happy, thank you, and getting on with her life and in love with food. Then a tragedy in the family forces BB to find a new relationship with her body and herself…

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Big Bones is the first YA novel that I have read in 2018 and I am glad I requested a digital copy from NetGalley. It was a lovely reading experience because Dockrill really knows how to write and the story was hilarious.

BB is awesome, her experiences brought back memories from when I was a teenager myself and her way of looking at life was refreshing. This is a story about body confidence and getting to accept who we really are – both physically and mentally.

It’s an easy read, very well written, funny, raw and honest. The book is intended to be Bluebelle’s food diary but in it, she also writes about her family, her thoughts and feelings, her aspirations, feminism and body positivity. To be honest, I’ve never read something like this before – this is not a book about a toxic relationship with food, in fact, it’s quite the opposite and it’s empowering.

The story was believable and I think it was only once or twice where I found myself doubting the plot. The characters were warm and seeing the heroine being so happy in her own skin was inspirational.

It’s a story about food, friends, boys and family but above all is a story about trying to be healthy, taking care of oneself and finding balance. I loved the development of BB’s attitude and genuinely enjoyed every page. All in all, this book is a success and I hope everyone gets the chance to read it.

Big Bones out on 8th March and you can get your copy here.

I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

 

Advertisements

Book review: Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

9780007515547.jpg

Not That Kind of Girl
by Lena Dunham

★★★★
Edition: Paperback
Published: 23/02/2017
Publisher: Fourth State

 

I have read loads of books since the beginning of 2017. Well, not as many as I’d have liked but it’s been a busy year. However, I wanted to share with you my thoughts on a particular book that made me smile and laugh. It made me feel nostalgic and I ended up taking it everywhere with me: to the office, on the tube and even to some dates with my boyfriend where I hoped to have the chance to open it up while I waited for him to arrive…

This book claims to be for readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris and it is a collection of hilarious, poignant, and extremely frank  personal essays written by Lena Dunham – the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO’s ‘Girls’.

– – – – – – – – –

If you type ‘Lena Dunham’ or ‘GIRLS’ on Google, you would find thousands of sites about them. There is so much that is being said on both the author and her series. What is true and what isn’t? You need to find out for yourself and create your own opinion, and that’s what Lena Dunham has taught me: it is fine to have your own voice so in spite of all the bad reviews out there, let me tell you that I found this book witty, interesting, charming and funny. The book is divided in essays and yes, I got lost in some of them but eventually I found myself again, laughing so much I thought I was going to cry.

I’ve run into a lot of people who don’t like Lena Dunham. In reality, I didn’t find her that interesting at the beginning either. I thought – is her only purpose to appear naked in every episode of her series? But you know what? I don’t really care. There are so many hot girls who appear naked everywhere and what if she wants to show her own body and put herself out there? I say YES to that. She’s hot and intelligent and deserves credit not only for the series she created, but for the lessons she teaches everyone of us.

Yes, that is her. Yes, she puts herself out there and shows everyone that you shouldn’t (even for one second) be ashamed of who you are. Even if you are not a size 8, if you have anxiety, OCD or kissed a girl back when you were at school. So what? You are gold, and precious and kind.

And no, this book didn’t changed my life but I enjoyed it. I found myself there (as I am sure a lot of people did) and Lena Dunham has some great life lessons to teach us all. If you liked GIRLS, give it a go because you’ll like this. She lives up to her voice and that’s nice.

So here’s to you Lena, five big, shiny stars.

You can read more about Not That Kind of Girl here
And if you feel like reading it, click here to buy the book.